The Ottawa-Carleton Discrete Mathematics Group


We are a diverse and active research group with interests in many areas of discrete mathematics.

Research areas

 Faculty members

Professor
Contact information
Research areas

Sylvia Boyd

photo

EECS
University of Ottawa

sylvia@site.uottawa.ca

www.site.uottawa.ca/~sylvia


  • combinatorial optimization
  • polyhedral combinatorics
  • travelling salesmanproblem


Kevin Cheung
photo

School of Mathematics and Statistics
Carleton University

kcheung@math.carleton.ca

www.math.carleton.ca/~kcheung

  • discrete optimization
Vida Dujmović
EECS
University of Ottawa

vida.dujmovic@uottawa.ca

cg.scs.carleton.ca/~vida

  • graph theory (geometric and structural)
  • computational geometry
  • data structures and algorithms

Zhicheng (Jason) Gao
photo

School of Mathematics and Statistics
Carleton University

zgao@math.carleton.ca

www.math.carleton.ca/~zgao

  • combinatorial enumeration
  • graph theory


Lucia Moura
photo

EECS
University of Ottawa

lucia@site.uottawa.ca

www.site.uottawa.ca/~lucia/

  • combinatorial design theory
  • combinatorial algorithms
  • combinatorial optimization

Mike Newman
Mike
                Newman

Department of Mathematics and Statistics
University of Ottawa

mnewman@uottawa.ca
http://mysite.science.uottawa.ca/mnewman/


  • algebraic graph theory
  • combinatorics
  • matroids

Daniel Panario
photo

School of Mathematics and Statistics
Carleton University

daniel@math.carleton.ca

http://www.math.carleton.ca/%7Edaniel/

  • finite fields
  • combinatorics
  • analysis of algorithms

Mateja Šajna
Mateja
              Sajna


Department of Mathematics and Statistics
University of Ottawa

msajna@uottawa.ca

http://mysite.science.uottawa.ca/msajna//index.html

  • algebraic graph theory
  • combinatorics
  • applications of graph theory to biology

Brett Stevens
photo

School of Mathematics and Statistics
Carleton University

brett@math.carleton.ca

www.math.carleton.ca/~brett/

  • combinatorial design theory
  • graph theory
  • Gray codes


Steven Wang
photo

School of Mathematics and Statistics
Carleton University

wang@math.carleton.ca

www.math.carleton.ca/~wang

  • finite fields and applications
  • combinatorics



PhD Comprehensive Exams in Discrete Mathematics

Other Discrete Mathematics courses offered regularly

Seminars and research activities